In Person Texas License to Carry Handgun Class


Everything you need to obtain your Texas License to Carry Handgun.


This is the Texas License to Carry a Handgun in person training class. This class covers everything needed to obtain your License to Carry in the State of Texas. You will be provided with an LTC-100 form to submit to DPS to complete the application process.

Doane Tactical will have handguns available for rent at $50/ handgun. Doane Tactical only has 9mm handguns available for rent. If you plan to rent a handgun from Doane Tactical please bring 100 rounds of 9mm ammunition to class.

If you plan to bring your own firearm to class you will need at least 50 rounds of ammunition for the shooting qualification. Doane Tactical recommends bringing 100 rounds to class in the event you need to reshoot or have any issues with your ammunition.

*This is a five student minimum class. If not enough students sign up an email will go out offering a refund or rescheduling the class.*

Directly from DPS’s Website:

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) administers the Handgun Licensing Program under the authority of the Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H. DPS licenses individuals to carry handguns within Texas, evaluates the eligibility of applicants through criminal history background checks, and monitors those currently licensed to ensure their continued eligibility. DPS also trains and certifies License To Carry (LTC) instructors who teach the required course to applicants.

House Bill 1927 (Permitless Carry) does not repeal the License to Carry Program (LTC), established by Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H. The department is still required to process applications, conduct background checks, and produce a laminated license for those who qualify.

Benefits of Obtaining an LTC:

Carry on a Premises
  • Airport: License holders have protections related to the accidental carrying of a firearm in the secured area.
  • Business: Businesses may choose to allow licensed carry on their premises.
  • Government Meetings: License holders can carry in a meeting.
  • University Campuses: License still required to carry on university campuses; “Campus Carry” is unchanged.
  • $40.00: Valid for five years ($8.00 per year).


Handgun Purchasing


  • License can be used as an alternative to the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) check.


ID Designation
  • Instructor: ID can be used for proof of certification as a Texas Handgun License instructor.
  • Judge/Prosecutor: ID can be used for identification purposes.
  • Veteran: ID can be used to obtain discounts at local establishments offering discounts to veterans.


Personal Identification
  • Personal Identification: The license must be accepted by most businesses as a valid form of personal identification.
  • Voter ID: The license is a designated document for voter ID.


State Reciprocity
  • Texas Handgun License holders can carry firearms in states where Texas has a reciprocity agreement or state law recognizes the Texas Handgun license.
  • A list of states with reciprocal agreements/state law recognition with Texas can be found at the following link: State Reciprocity Information.
  • Required to apply for a Handgun License.
  • Conducted by a licensed Texas Handgun Instructor.

Additional information


August 12, 2023, August 19, 2023, August 29, 2023


Semi-Auto Handgun, Revolver


You are required to shoot at least a .22 caliber handgun. Doane Tactical recommends bringing the firearm and caliber you intend on carrying.

Additional Information

Optical enhancers attached to your firearm are prohibited. Nothing that magnifies the target. You are allowed to use unmagnified red dots and holographic sights.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “In Person Texas License to Carry Handgun Class”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…